Step 1: Apply Online
Step 2: Set up your MJC email
Step 3: Complete College Orientation
Step 4: Complete the Assessment Process
Step 5: Develop an Education Plan
Step 6: Mail your Official Transcripts
Step 7: Apply for Financial Aid
Step 8: Register for Classes
Step 9: Pay Fees
Contact the friendly Admissions Office staff if you have questions about adding or dropping classes, or filing for pass/no pass.
The Assessment Testing Office administers tests to help you select appropriate courses or satisfy pre-requisites.
International students should start by visiting the International Student Program.
ASMJC Student Government
Civic Engagement Project
Find a job
Hispanic Education Conference
International Student Program
Prime Shine Pirate Express Bus Schedule
Student's Rights and Responsibilities
Committees & Associations
California School Employees Assoc.
Distance Education Committee
Professional Development Committee
Resource Allocation Council
Yosemite Faculty Association
The company that has provided motorcycle classes through the California Highway Patrol over the last several years has changed. Because of this, MJC (or any other motorcycle school) are unable to offer motorcycle class after January 1, 2015 UNTIL details such as new curriculum, books, training for instructors, ranges, pricing, etc. has been worked decided and given to the schools.
Our MJC Community Education office will be closed beginning Dec. 15, 2014 and re-open after the holidays on January 5, 2015. At that time we hope to have some information as to when we will be able to re-start the motorcycle classes.
If you are interested in our motorcycle classes and would like us to contact you once classes resume, you can e-mail your contact information (name and phone number) to firstname.lastname@example.org (please specify that you are interested in the motorcycle classes when e-mailing) OR click here to put yourself on an interest list. You will need to create a student account at that time. We will call you to register for the motorcycle classes as soon as we get the information and are able to set up the new classes.
The "most frequently asked" questions we receive regarding motorcycle training are:
The classes will consist of 6 hours classroom time and 10 hours of range time while riding a motorcycle. We have 2 classes every weekend beginning on Thursday evening, all day Saturday and 1/2 day on Sunday. We offer two classes a weekend - unless enrollment numbers are down and then we will offer one class per week.
A Class - (Times may change after the new new year - see note above)
Thursday - 6:30-9:30 p.m.
Saturday - 7:00 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
Sunday - 7:00 a.m. -12:00 noon
B Class - (Times may change after the new new year - see note above)
Thursday - 6:30-9:30p.m.
Saturday - 9:00 a.m. -5:30 p.m.
Sunday - 12:30 a.m. - 5:30 p.m.
21 years of age or over - $250 (Price may change after the new new year - see note above)
Under 21 years of age - $150 - If you are under 21 at the time you register - You must call our office at 575-6063 to register. You will NOT be charged the $3 registration fee. The fee is less for anyone under 21 because the state requires anyone under 21 who wants to ride a motorcycle to take this safety course.
You w ill NOT be charged the additional $3 registration fee if you register over the phone or in person.
NOTE: A new law beginning January 2011 - CA AB1952 - requires a person under 21 years of age to complete the Motorcycle Safety Foundation's Basic Rider Course before being issued a motorcycle instruction permit. The law requires the permit to be held for six months before a Class M motorcycle drivers license is issued.
If you are 21 or over you can register online at www.mjc4life.org, over the phone - 575-6063, or in person at MJC East Campus, Morris Building, Room 204. You are not charged the $3 registration fee for motorcycle registrations.
If you are under 21 years old you must register by phone or in person. You WILL NOT be charged the additional $3 registration fee.
No. It is the policy of the Modesto Junior College Community Education school to use only MJC motorcycles as training bikes. Due to increased liability issues we do not allow students to use their personal motorcycle as a training bike. See next question for scooters/mopeds.
If you have a scooter, please let us know when you register. There are special requirements for scooter training. For more information call our office at 575-6063. If you are taking Scooter Training you can bring your own scooter/moped. You must come on Saturday a half hour early to have your scooter checked out for safety. You must bring current registration and copy of insurance. If you are going to get a motorcycle license only (you do not have an automobile drivers license), DMV will require you to also take a road test.
M1 license = motorcycle & scooter
M2 license = moped
Upon successful completion of the course you will receive a certificate of completion (DL 389) that will waive the skills test at DMV. You will still need to take the DMV written test to get your license.
Once you successfully complete the motorcycle class, our office will process the paperwork, and mail you a certificate within 2 weeks. You will take the certificate we mail you to the DMV and it will waive the driving portion of the test.
If you do not pass the course the first time, you may retake the course, or portion needed, at no cost.
Yes, we provide the motorcycles that you will use on the range portion of the class. They are Honda 250cc - Nighthawks and Rebels.
You will need one of the following: a valid driver's license, permit (for car or motorcycle), or completion certificate from drivers education. All valid out-of-state and foreign licenses are acceptable.
Clothing you will need for the driving portion of the class
* Shoes or boots that go over the ankle (canvas tennis shoes are not heavy enough)
* Long pants - heavy, i.e., jeans
* Long sleeve shirt or jacket
* Full-finger leather gloves
* Eye protection (sunglasses or prescription glasses will work)
* Helmet (you may use your own helmet if it is DOT approved, or we will provide you with a helmet)
NOTE: You are responsible to review and understand the information - including the clothing requirements. If you have questions regarding your clothing requirements speak to the instructor on Thursday evening - that way if you need to get a different type of clothing you will have time before your Saturday class.
Do NOT be late for any of the classes or you will be asked to leave and need to reschedule for a $100 rescheduling fee.
You will attend a total of at least 16 hours of instruction, including both classroom and range time. Times may vary, check the schedule that will be given to you.
Class schedule will be posted as soon as we have it after January 5, 2015 - Click Here to put yourself on an interest list. Once we have the newest information, we will contact you to register.
Phone: 209 575-6063
Fax: 209 575-6025
Morris Memorial Administration Building