Students at the M.J.C. East Campus

Need help?

Contact the friendly Admissions Office staff if you have questions about adding or dropping classes, or filing for pass/no pass.

The Assessment Testing Office administers tests to help you select appropriate courses or satisfy pre-requisites.

International students should start by visiting the International Student Program.

Modesto Junior College
Decorative Header Image

College Council


The primary role of the College Council is to advise the President on college policy and procedural matters. The College Council also advises the President to advocate at District level on college wide issues.

  • The role of the council in the budgeting process is to review and recommend budget and planning through its established committees.
  • The council will annually review existing college councils and,where appropriate, make recommendations on the charge and membership of such councils.
  • The council will maintain a handbook of its charge,responsibilities, and membership which will be reviewed and updated annually.
  • The council agenda, minutes and handbook will be made available on the college website.
  • The council will periodically review and update the college mission statement.
  • The council will maintain and update the MJC Strategic Plan at least every five years.
  • The council will have primary responsibility for institutional effectiveness.
  • The council serves as a forum for the discussion of the concerns of college constituent groups.
  • The council will support the legal responsibilities of all constituent groups.



  • Jill Stearns, Chair (President)
  • Al Alt (Vice President College Administrative Services)
  • Bill Anelli (Academic Senate Rep)
  • Flerida Arias (Prof Dev Comm Rep)
  • Nancy Backlund (Technology Council)
  • Patrick Bettencourt (Dean Rep)
  • Flora Carter (Diversity Committee)
  • Baljinder Gill (CSEA Rep)
  • Jennifer Hamilton (Resource Allocation Council Rep)
  • Lisa Husman (LTAC Rep)
  • Deborah Laffranchini (Instruction Council Rep)
  • Tommy Ledesma (ASMJC Rep)
  • Curtis Martin (Academic Senate President)
  • Ross McKenzie (YFA Rep)
  • Tommy Ledesma (ASMJC Rep)
  • Chad Redwing (Academic Senate Rep)
  • Martha Robles (Student Services Council)
  • Jim Sahlman (YFA Rep)
  • Michael Smedshammer (Distance Ed Council)
  • Brenda Thames (Vice President of Instruction)
  • James Todd (Interim VP Student Services)
  • Joan Van Kuren (CSAC Rep)
  • Vacant - 2 (ASMJC Rep)
  • Vacant (Accreditation Council Rep)
  • Vacant (Facilities Council)